Location view corrupt?

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

captain paranoia
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Jul 07, 2010 1:41 pm

Location view corrupt?

Post by captain paranoia » Fri Aug 17, 2018 5:18 pm

I've recently re-arranged my media NAS, changing from a single Share (Media) containing three sub-folders (Music, Photos, Videos), to three individual Shares.

Previously, the Music folder was mapped as a network drive, M: as \\server\Media\Music, and MediaMonkey was pointed to M:

After the move, I changed the network drive mapping so that M: pointed to \\server\Music

Since the music was still on M:, I didn't expect MediaMonkey to even notice the change. But it did; none of the music could be found. So I ran the UpdateLocationOfFiles script, and the artwork and 'Now Playing' list recovered. All seemed good.

Then I noticed a discrepancy in the 'Location' tree view; Many album artists have only one album visible in that view, and that album contains only one track (usually the first, but not always).

Code: Select all

Location
    net:Music (M:)
        All
        <source level 1>
            All
            <source level 2>
                All
                <album artist>
                    All
                        album artist1
                        album1 (album artist1)
                    <album1>
Doing a re-scan makes the album titles appear under in the album artist folder, and the scan reports the correct number of files have been updated, but the 'All' view for the album artist does not change, and the newly-added albums show no tracks.

Code: Select all

Location
     net:Music (M:)
        All
        <source level 1>
            All
            <source level 2>
                All
                <album artist1>
                    All
                        album artist1
                        album1 (album artist1)
                    <album1>
                    <album2>
                    <album3>
                    <album...>
If I close up the album artist folder, and re-open it, I'm back to one album, and one track.

If I look at the 'All' view at the top of the list of album artist folders, everything is correct; all albums, and all tracks are visible for all album artists. If I view album covers, all albums are present, and viewing by tracks, all tracks are present.

Code: Select all

Location
    net:Music (M:)
        All
        <source level 1>
            All
            <source level 2>
                All
                    album artist1
                        album1 (album artist1)
                        album2 (album artist1)
                        album3 (album artist1)
                        albumn (album artist1)
                    album artist2
                    ...
                <album artist1>
                <album artist2>
                <...>
                <album artistn>
The track count in the bottom left is correct; all tracks are in the library, it's just the Location view is corrupt.

I have run 'Maintain Library' (quick and complete); I have restarted MM multiple times. I have rebooted the PC. I have re-scanned the folders numerous times. Nothing fixes this problem; the Location view under individual Album Artists appears resolutely broken.

My music is filed in a number of source folders, under my M: network drive

M:\<source level 1>\<source level 2>\<album artist>\<album>\<track> <title>

This has worked fine for the last eight years. Well, for the last eight years, it has looed like:

M:\Music\<source level 1>\<source level 2>\<album artist>\<album>\<track> <title>

Any suggestions as to what this problem might be, and how to fix it (short of deleting the entire database and starting again, losing all play counts, etc)?
Last edited by captain paranoia on Fri Aug 17, 2018 6:15 pm, edited 5 times in total.

Lowlander
Posts: 45994
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Location view corrupt?

Post by Lowlander » Fri Aug 17, 2018 5:29 pm

Do you see this under Entire Library > Location as well (enable under File > Manage Collections)?
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

captain paranoia
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Jul 07, 2010 1:41 pm

Re: Location view corrupt?

Post by captain paranoia » Fri Aug 17, 2018 5:55 pm

Yes. Same behaviour

The 'My Computer' view is correct.

captain paranoia
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Jul 07, 2010 1:41 pm

Re: Location view corrupt?

Post by captain paranoia » Fri Aug 17, 2018 7:39 pm

Just tried the same process on another installation. Foolishly, perhaps...

Same result, although the single album found is different. Ah; not quite the same: 'Now Playing' tracks haven't resolved, and the re-scan doesn't make the albums appear, even temporarily.

I now see that the UpdateLocationOfFiles add-on is no longer to be found in the Add-ons download area. I pulled it from my software repository (v1.3.3). So maybe it is now deprecated, and not compatible with a more modern MM.DB file in some way. Shame; it was a useful tool.

Looks like it will have to be a clean library time, Luckily, I'm not overly fussed about play counts, and only used them casually to weed out repeat plays from aut-DJ now playing.

Either that, or this will be the final thing that pushes me completely over to MusicBee; it didn't even blink at the change in file location.

Unless someone has some bright idea as to how to fix the problem.

Lowlander
Posts: 45994
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Location view corrupt?

Post by Lowlander » Fri Aug 17, 2018 9:56 pm

It's still available: https://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewt ... n+database

The following may be able to get Play History from the old database into the new database: http://mediamonkey.com/forum/viewtopic. ... e+database
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

captain paranoia
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Jul 07, 2010 1:41 pm

Re: Location view corrupt?

Post by captain paranoia » Sat Aug 18, 2018 6:07 am

Thanks. Looks like I have the latest version. Odd that it doesn't appear in the Add-on lists, and wasn't found when I searched.

I'll give the play history script a go.

Thanks.

Still baffled at the behaviour though; the library is intact, but the location display doesn't reflect the library...

Lowlander
Posts: 45994
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Location view corrupt?

Post by Lowlander » Sat Aug 18, 2018 12:34 pm

You could try MediaMonkey 5 (from its forum) to repair the database, it is better at it.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

captain paranoia
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Jul 07, 2010 1:41 pm

Re: Location view corrupt?

Post by captain paranoia » Mon Aug 20, 2018 7:35 am

> I'll give the play history script a go.

Seems to insist on you restoring a tag in addition to the play count (i.e. you can't import just the play counts). That confused me for a while...

Seems to have restored the play histories and date added. So far as I can tell...

Thanks.

Post Reply