Sync two Windows computers

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

dennisparrott
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2018 10:07 am

Re: Sync two Windows computers

Post by dennisparrott » Wed May 30, 2018 12:31 pm

@gordol --

I did not read all of the replies. It is quite possible that everyone's answers may have fixed your problem. I'm adding my $0.02 to help explain WHY a portable install is a winner for what you _might_ be doing (I say _might_ because all I really know about your intent was that you wanted two installs to stay in sync...).

The other posters who have said that you should do a portable installation are very correct _IF_ you are not expecting to be able to play songs on more than one computer at a time.

What a portable installation does is allow me to install MediaMonkey on an external drive containing all of my music files. I can take that drive containing music+MM and plug it into _ANY_ computer and run MediaMonkey.

One caveat: the drive, when mounted on another computer needs to have the same drive letter as when MM got installed. A necessary-to-have skill is changing a drive letter. In my case it was E: when I installed MM on my new Yoga 920. When I plug it into my desktop machine I sometimes have to change the letter.

What this allows me to do is store my 140K track library on a 4TB pocket-sized hard drive and work on my music (I DJ so I am always crate digging...) on _ANY_ Windows box.

This will get you around the need to sync between installations.

Another thing you will get is simplified backup of your library. All I have to do is plug the drive into a machine and then simply copy the MM install folder and the MM music folder (I have all of my music under a single folder on the drive) to another drive somewhere. (I am dreading that first backup operation... syncing from my drive to the backup drive will be the way to go after that first one...)

There are a number of other folks who say that they prefer other media players (Foobar 2000, for example). I'm probably going to look into doing a portable install of one on that drive so that I can have everything just as I want it without having to keep two copies of the player up to date as well.

RonZimmerman
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2018 8:53 am

Re: Sync two Windows computers

Post by RonZimmerman » Thu May 31, 2018 7:02 am

Thanks everyone for your help, i would prefer not to have to carry an external drive with me, but that is an option. I am going to try to the serial number sync when I get home so the laptop and desktop and media center all have the same music. I'll let you know how it works.

Robindbois

Re: Sync two Windows computers

Post by Robindbois » Thu Oct 11, 2018 1:43 pm

So, do somebody has a viable solution for this? I am too in that boat. I have two computers and I'd like to sync them entirely without renaming the disk volume.

Why Mediamonkey doesn't have a clean feature to do that as itune? Isn't it a reasonnable need for many people? It is in the MediaMonkey team plan?

There is already a good solution for Android and Apple but no one for any other computer.

Thanks!

Robin

Lowlander
Posts: 45062
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Sync two Windows computers

Post by Lowlander » Thu Oct 11, 2018 2:37 pm

Many will have their files on a network share instead of on 2 or more computers and the database can be shared: https://www.mediamonkey.com/support/ind ... nvironment (there are multiple access performance issues to content with). There is a specific server in development for use with MediaMonkey products: https://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=31
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

RonZimmerman
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2018 8:53 am

Re: Sync two Windows computers

Post by RonZimmerman » Fri Oct 12, 2018 12:07 am

I changed the disk volumes of 2 computers to match the main one and it works. I use synctoy to keep the mediamokey files synced and the music.

jdhill93
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2012 8:45 pm

Re: Sync two Windows computers

Post by jdhill93 » Sun Oct 14, 2018 1:26 pm

I think this partition serial number issue is the key to my problem too.
BUT - what are the risks of changing the number - probably on my laptops new data partition to match my big desktop? Trouble on the laptop is not the end of the world, but messing up the desktop could be trouble.
Thanks.

Also, re the last post on syncing - the poster probably wants to sync not only the database mm.db, but also the folders holding the individual music data files. Their tag data will change over time.

Peke
Posts: 11444
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: Sync two Windows computers

Post by Peke » Tue Oct 16, 2018 8:50 pm

Hi,
Unless you pair both HDDs with same Serial in same PC you should be safe.
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add Images to forum

RonZimmerman
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2018 8:53 am

Re: Sync two Windows computers

Post by RonZimmerman » Wed Oct 17, 2018 8:26 am

Yes, I also sync the actual music files. I have had no issues on my laptop (Windows 10) and 2 PCs (windows 10, Windows 7) since I matched the serial numbers.

Robindbois

Re: Sync two Windows computers

Post by Robindbois » Thu Nov 15, 2018 9:22 am

So is there an implemented solution from MediaMonkey? Do MediaMonkey plan to do it?

It seems an obvious need in the communities and and easy task to do (Itune does it since a long time). The implementation is done for an android device, why not win10 as many user has more thn just one computer.

jiri
Posts: 5368
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Sync two Windows computers

Post by jiri » Thu Nov 15, 2018 9:39 am

Yes, this is currently being implemented through MediaMonkey Server. It's a bit rought, as MM5 and MMS are yet the alpha stage, but generally speaking usable.

Jiri

KEP
Posts: 178
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 10:27 pm
Location: Vancouver USA

Re: Sync two Windows computers

Post by KEP » Sun Nov 18, 2018 3:14 pm

Lowlander wrote:
Thu Oct 11, 2018 2:37 pm
Many will have their files on a network share instead of on 2 or more computers and the database can be shared:
https://www.mediamonkey.com/support/ind ... nvironment
Would like to do this, but am concerned with the first step there... The library is 120k(-ish) tracks, all seen as being on a local (D:) drive under a single (\music) folder.

So if I were to share that folder and scanned \\192.168.1.x\music, does that "just" update the location of found tracks, add an entire new location node, some hybrid of the two (like updating location and other attributes?), or something else I haven't imagined yet?

Assuming it's a new location node, I could then set MM to monitor that as well, and it'd stay in sync with the existing drive node?

Guessing it'd be an "overnight" task given the number of tracks, and that attempts to try over would be rather frustrating, so just trying to get a sense of what to expect. Thanks!

Lowlander
Posts: 45062
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Sync two Windows computers

Post by Lowlander » Mon Nov 19, 2018 12:44 pm

If you want to access the files from their UNC Path instead of the local drive letter you can use: https://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewt ... n+database

You don't need to move the files, you just need to tell the database to use a different Path to access them. Once that is done any PC using that database would see the files just fine as their now with their network Path in the database.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

KEP
Posts: 178
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 10:27 pm
Location: Vancouver USA

Re: Sync two Windows computers

Post by KEP » Tue Nov 20, 2018 10:53 am

Lowlander wrote:
Mon Nov 19, 2018 12:44 pm
If you want to access the files from their UNC Path instead of the local drive letter you can use: https://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewt ... n+database

You don't need to move the files, you just need to tell the database to use a different Path to access them. Once that is done any PC using that database would see the files just fine as their now with their network Path in the database.
Understood. Was asking about what "actually happens" in step one of that link you posted. From your response, my take is the database is updated such that there's a single location node that uses the UNC path rather than local drive:\folder, huh? Not two location nodes, one using each naming convention?

Lowlander
Posts: 45062
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Sync two Windows computers

Post by Lowlander » Tue Nov 20, 2018 12:33 pm

If you use the Addon to change the Paths, you'll still have a single entry for the files, but now in the new location.

Do make sure that you disable Folder Monitoring on the D drive and that you don't scan it anymore. MediaMonkey will see the D drive and network Path files as 2 different files, thus you'll have duplicates if scanning the D drive after you changed everything to their network Path.

If you have any specific questions about the use of the Addon ask them in its forum thread so the developer can respond: https://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewt ... n+database
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

KEP
Posts: 178
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 10:27 pm
Location: Vancouver USA

Re: Sync two Windows computers

Post by KEP » Tue Nov 20, 2018 4:51 pm

Lowlander wrote:
Tue Nov 20, 2018 12:33 pm
If you use the Addon to change the Paths, you'll still have a single entry for the files, but now in the new location.

Do make sure that you disable Folder Monitoring on the D drive and that you don't scan it anymore. MediaMonkey will see the D drive and network Path files as 2 different files, thus you'll have duplicates if scanning the D drive after you changed everything to their network Path.
Ahhh, and this is why I asked! Using the addon didn't even occur to me, but it makes total sense to go that way rather than the way recommended in the first article you linked to. That first step there, scanning the share, just seemed sketchy to me.

Not sure if I'm getting too far off-topic to ask, but, would making the share read-only (selectively, anyway) have a negative impact on MM? Goal would be to prevent editing except on the single machine where the library is maintained.

Thanks!

Post Reply