MM can't seem to find MM.DB

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

MM can't seem to find MM.DB

Postby sallenmd87 » Mon Sep 11, 2017 10:17 am

Hi:
I have a portable installation of the latest released version of MediaMonkey on a 4TB external hard drive. I use it on a laptop when traveling and my desktop when home. Both Windows 10 computers recognize the drive as Z:, and I can easily explore the drive on either. Every now and again, when I switch between computers, MM will start up as if there is no database file. For some reason, it is not seeing MM.DB, which is in Z:/MediaMonkey/Portable. Sometimes rebooting the computer works, but today I can't seem to get it to see the existing database on the portable drive while connected to my laptop. Any theories? Thanks.
sallenmd87
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Feb 01, 2014 5:46 pm

Re: MM can't seem to find MM.DB

Postby Lowlander » Mon Sep 11, 2017 11:06 am

Which version of MediaMonkey? Does reconnecting the drive help resolve?
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
Lowlander
 
Posts: 43146
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: MM can't seem to find MM.DB

Postby sallenmd87 » Mon Sep 11, 2017 2:39 pm

4.1.17.1840
No
sallenmd87
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Feb 01, 2014 5:46 pm

Re: MM can't seem to find MM.DB

Postby Peke » Mon Sep 11, 2017 7:58 pm

Use any of your windows PCs and set security permissions (Folder properties) to FULL and set user as EVERYBODY. that should eliminate no DB access issues.
Best regards,
Pavle
MM Core Developer and Admin of free MediaMonkey extensions Hosting
Image
Image
Peke
 
Posts: 10272
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia

Re: MM can't seem to find MM.DB

Postby sallenmd87 » Mon Sep 11, 2017 9:18 pm

Peke wrote:Use any of your windows PCs and set security permissions (Folder properties) to FULL and set user as EVERYBODY. that should eliminate no DB access issues.

I did that back when I installed MM as portable months ago. Just verified that settings remain exactly as you recommend, so permissions are not the problem? How does MM know where to look for the DB file. I see nothing in the INI file about it. Could my INI file be corrupt? It's got a lot of gobbledygook like this in it:



[Software\MediaMonkey\Interface\V4\Forms\FSongProperties]
State=0
Left=1106
Top=406
Width=572
Height=547

]‘ye‘rmŸsdšlh‰gns_…YZ¬XXŸQN€.@Ê1GÒ?=ß1?Û3EÀHC{SRyMW±d`¦ˆlpŸqZ mb”ok†–Žy’šUZ[flsv›Qsf9Pv5C½4@Ù6BÙ;@Ø<:Þ8=Ý7=Ý7>Ú6>Ú6>Ý6=Ý5<Ý5<Þ1?ä7HÌ0I6UmJl{Ss€?R\<AP67I*3k<B³8N³;]–MvAw„@Bƒ2BÃ3DÔ:EÓ;EÐ>HÑ9KÍ;JÌBHÌCM®l|˜ÛÝþ°­¥–¬®¢¿®¥Ã¶¥¢ž•p~^—¬E”µa¯ß^‚¦NA^kT‚gVk[|t]{{`yct…co‚`iƒbi…dg‰hh ­È“²¯‡®§jŒŒQmj^r‹»ÖñÅæ÷ÆåùÇæ÷ÇåöÇåöÈçøÈçúÁäø¾âöÃâ÷ÇäøÈåøÇåøÆä÷ËåøèõüúþøÝæç~«FYœEV©JX¦EH•AGzAQy:C_7>jZk˜bt—`p’RbŽFQ—DJµ=DÒ7A×6?Ö8DÈ9I´<9ÜFKÌgr©””¤‘ˆ…aTVH@C30<,*G.1Y-3~09¥5F¬ql ºžµÏÃ̬¯¯š±e`‹|e‰jq›pf¢o]©q[ l^‹fpp_ˆ[Y°ENÆP`¤|fxdX‹CQ =L–FG‘?8›GApEGŽn\ryW~PO±K^Æek­‰lzšm_‚xflŠm•’e•†HvmPeZXQxPM°?DÎ6=Þ2@Ú5AÚ7?Û8?Ý8>Þ6=Ü5?Ø4>Ù5>Ú5?Ú6CØ:=àABÊ5A‚Ml‹‚¥¸x‘¡Sd…?BŒ:@¿3=Þ;>Û?Qµ”œ»¯œCL‰.?Ø5?ß5>Û4<Ù5>Û9=Ù9>Û7=ß3DÎRbš¡ ™e_x<A¡=K±HR¤nj‘£ž•}–™4–ªD•¸X­ÙBb„(2r7DÌ5>Ú8?Ù3BÕ5GÓ:JÑ=KÍ@IÅEJÀJK¼NN¹^sr}–\bl8GPrŒAZb€”»Ãã÷ÄçóÇåöÇåöÇåöÉæøÉèúÄèøÂåøÄä÷ÄâõÃáöÃâ÷ÄãöÛñûõþüêí킆°@H­8B×7@á7BÚ6@Ö2BÑ4FÎ>HÁ5AÀ1?Ã9GÃAOË:LÓ6@Ù4@Ø/A×3>Ü5CÆDc©Qr­5>Ñ0CÕ?QÇgq¬¸³ÇÀ³À™‹›se]jLHS88?-*E<@_’‡Ÿ·²À·Ã¾¶ÃŒ¥ª†ypŸp\¤rU¤pW¡n_‘oqvf™WVÂAEÖCLÇhemhnYˆBNºd`„[S‰j_lYM]YshOšGQ£}fj…fmPN¨;HÔNYÉhf¨ld˜š‡Ãµ\¥ŽCs`o`[˜i^škafrsa‚bX›RM¸@HÆ<EÎ7AØ6?Ý:>Ü:>Ü:?Ú9?Õ6?×2@Û5AÛ:AÒ:EÅAO¼?M·9DÃ7@Ô0BÝ1@Ý;?Û;L¼¥««Î¹¤EIŠ6=Ö8@Û4>Ý2<à5=ß6>Ù6BÁ;H±BO¦EZ…NR[;4>+0~6=Í.>Ü3GÁ9^ˆ7Œ¡4ˆ©LšÁG|¤-4K23r6AÕ5?Ý9B×6@Ú8AÜ9CÜ8CÛ6GÜ6IÝ;IÜ>IÙ’—°—–¡\V^2<Lr–”Llh<Ie¨¼×ÄçöÃå÷ÅåøÇåùÉåùÇæ÷Çç÷ÈæøÈæøÀàõ¹Þõºá÷Çäõêõýõûø¡¬¹?HŸ:BÕ7@Ü7?Ý5?Û3?Ú3=Ý5<ß7>Ý5@Ù7?ß7?à5=à3=à3=ß2AÛ3@Ü8DÓAS­Y~©S}¹1>Ð/>Ý5>Þ:LÈXc¥°¬¾Î¼È´Ÿ­²›­©’§’‚Œndpsk{¦˜¥¶¡¬Á°¹ÉÂÉ–¤¨ƒƒƒ’h]p^Œltrg–X^¾:JÝ3EÕIR«rg‚™lgs^CLÂSX¢y_SS™…dj]Pœ[\|\v>L°SZ§ˆik–kfbX˜9DÍ8CÝ7QÈf„³–ÐÂ[™†[d[˜jZ§oT¥nV¤nX oYžm^›mdŽipw]ƒbTžVPµFHÅ<BÏ5@Ù/@Û5@Ø6@×8BÛ:?Ý8@Ý7AÛ7BÜ6@Ý7@Ü8@Þ6@Ý6DØ@M¿¢¥ªÅ¹§IH‹4=Ö6A×5CÔ3?Î9C»LZ«x‰¯¨º¿ÅÓ×ÁÍØ{Œ¤>Zs-Nr-9z26™/AÏ8F¶/GfHm{;\t*5C$,=4;—9@Ý1BÝ5Aß7CØ:EÝ:DÝ8CÜ9FÙ:HØ:GÙ<Jز¦½Ÿ ¦CLP,3DEO\AJT*/@Xd}«Åß¾áôÄå÷ÇåùÈåùÇäùÉåùÈæ÷ÆäõÀßò¹Þõ¾áö×íø÷üýÒÕÓUXš;=Î3?Ù5>Û6?Ü5>Û4=Û5>Ü2@Ö1@Õ2?Ù3BÕ5CØ6AÚ7?Ý3AÚ1BÛ4CÛ7Nºq¼ž¼KzÃ8@Î8?×<FÑGLÎ[Y©ri}¶¨´Í¼Ì´ž°²•¨°˜¦¯š«¬š«º¨´Ì¸ÃÀª¶ÎÂÌ“•ž`beQ?BXGbTO¡>FÐ6?â=IÏ_]¢†lmœm^z[yCHÆ:LÃtc|sZ‰JS¡ˆghgQ˜BV£†ƒv^_‡>DÍZZœši_ oav^‰JI¿2BßDYÒ~¤±Rww`Zl“ibžnVœp\žo[¤oZ§o[ªoZ­pX¥pXŸrZštbˆktt_ˆ\S£II´<DÇ:BÐ8AÛ5?á8Aß8AÜ<CÜ<C×9C×7AÜ6@Û6BØ>I¿—™¢Ê¾­KP‹.@Õ2AÔHOžeherÁÓ×îúôúþûüüý§­ÃAˆº6“Ë7…­BX{08Y8@“2J·9UŽ_}–W]x0O.4|:CÈ8?ß7AÞ2AÞ6EÚ;Fß;FÞ8CÛ9EÜ:EÜ:EÜ<HÝŠv›ZUf5;D::L0/<+/9*5AEWqd| |“²Ÿ¸“¥µ’«·œ²Æ°ÈÝÁÛñÅãø¿àô½ßôÉäôì÷ûèçévyš>D¶6>Ý3@Ø6?Û7@Ý7@Ý6@Ú4BÖ0@Û4>Þ==ß3?Þ1Bß0AÝ/BÛ2BÞ6Eà:IÕLe·®É䛪ÄO„ÀZ^™pgž†p””|}›|i™obŒomº¤­Ñ¾Î¸¡¯°•¥°•©±˜«ÜÌÖоȰ˜§»§´‘[Xc::D-.:*-I*1e-<~NR{€gm¢l^†]vIL³5CÜ^U‘‘i`]U¤NT¢‘kboR‹@[–¿»­Å»´o| JU§ac~Žl`¦rZ‹ozZO°:FÔD]§6J˜7IÁM[¹xg‰•lhŸmX¥oU¤o[Ÿo_n^Ÿm\¢n[¤oY¦oW¢pXn\•i^ƒbnqY€_SžQM¶EIÉ<DÑ7BÚ1@â3AÞ7AÙ7@Ü7BÙ<IÆ€†œÎ¶YU:AÅCR™—™—½ª¡«©æìîôóõüûýòôöy‘¡´Ù#²é#¡Â<o‚7\|>~µ>_’<†Á4¿7Ry>OtHJ“EJ©>F¿8?Þ2BÚ7DÛ;EÞ;FÞ9DÝ9CÜ8CÛ;GÜ=JÝ…s¬}p’qgz`\m/4>3?UUi”kˆÀlÇc‚­[sVr|o•’VozOf{az•–¯Í¹ÙñÂâõÚðøçêꉈ£@A´5?Ý3@×9;à6?Þ6@Þ6@Ý5@Ù3CÙ0>á:DÌ7:—065>¤4>¸5?Ë8CÓ:KÇ?T³€˜ÊÈã隷ÂZ‹¼…stžwi¢u`©tYªsY§r]¥r`mk¯¨Í¿Ë¶¡±°•ª³œ­àØÞâÖß·Ÿ®°–¦¯›ª©˜¥—‡‘vnrUPT>:A./=30;C6?S?IH?ƒ4AÙCK¼~dlŠfjAL¾WU˜o[pVyYb‡Ë¶¬àÑÂ×Ͷ’’›OU†hXdˆiYg\y_nJOO^ŒooŠab•OY”KV˜XZ•m]}‡cfnZ£pV¦nW¤nY¤oW¢nXk]žnX nW¢lZ©nY¥m[›l_“lc…ivq_‡]V KP¸=GÉ8DÕ7BÞ6BÝ6EÔ[gŸÎÄ´}v~JL€™–˜Òȳ¦ ˜ÅÑÒîóößââðýüÂÙãYŽ£#•¼ÀêËð1 ¹It‘'¨Þ1†º ¥Ï¿æBšµ¦ŸÃ¶¬³®¬LW“3?Ø5BØ8AÚ:DÜ9DÜ9DÜ9DÝ9E×9HÑ;KÖ€qœ}{™–§³¦ÀÀe{~N`‡kˆÉjŽÌg†¼o‡¯^vq‹“®ÌÉz”¡Z©Gl“>Yqp­ÎàôÞå䈌ªCJ±5@Ø5=ß4=Û7=ß5?Ý6BØ8CÙ5AØ3AÜ5AÜ5I—3?W+5B+4F+/N,0[-4e8Amhu˜²ÉäÃãÈb·|gt’iY’gZ‘e]d_“f]¤q^žq_†fc¢Ÿ¿¯Â¿°½äÛáíéèéÞ㻣´±—­µ›°¸ ®»£®·¡¯®šªœ‹›t€]WbI;O41=-)\.<Ç^X‰šmbm[ƒ9EÌ_Yžo_~dgplt‘ˆŠžŠŽ¤œ‘­ž•µ –±£—µ¢–µ¢”¦š“•‹”†—Š}Œ„zywvjjwV]|NK–
sallenmd87
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Feb 01, 2014 5:46 pm

Re: MM can't seem to find MM.DB

Postby sallenmd87 » Mon Sep 11, 2017 9:41 pm

So I just replaced that INI with one from a few months ago that doesn't have all that gibberish. I seem to have lost a lot of settings, skins and extensions, but at least my playlists and data are back, so it opened the database properly and did not as me to import new music. It also has lost my Gold license. Very strange.
sallenmd87
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Feb 01, 2014 5:46 pm

Re: MM can't seem to find MM.DB

Postby Peke » Tue Sep 12, 2017 4:05 am

Just add
Code: Select all
[Portable]
IsPortable=1
to ini file.
Best regards,
Pavle
MM Core Developer and Admin of free MediaMonkey extensions Hosting
Image
Image
Peke
 
Posts: 10272
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia


Return to Need Help? (mmw)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests