Tag Management

Get answers about using MediaMonkey 4 for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

greycobalt

Tag Management

Post by greycobalt »

I use iTunes as my player, but MM as my info editor since iTunes kind of sucks at that. What I'd like to do is make sure that all my tags and changes I make to the tags are written to the actual file, since I use iTunes and my Android phone to play the files, and they come out nuts if I don't. I believe it's tagged a good majority of them properly, but some files still don't have album art or the correct file name. How do I tell MM to write the information to the file? Is there something specific I'm missing? I'm pretty new to the whole advanced management scene so I'm fairly incompetent, and Google searches weren't getting me places.

Also, does anyone know why sorting in MM won't work properly? The majority of songs are sorted right, but a couple hundred are in totally wrong places (there's some E's in the W's). I know iTunes has a "sorting" field where you can customize where they show up, but I'd rather have them all show up as is. How does MM handle that, and how can I make everything sort properly? Thanks in advance for the help!
Lowlander

Re: Tag Management

Post by Lowlander »

By default (Tools > Options > Tags & Playlists) MediaMonkey is set to save tags to the files for most file formats on edit: http://www.mediamonkey.com/wiki/index.p ... erties/4.0

However you're referring to filenames, which isn't tags and would be done automatically if you use Auto-Organize (Tools > Options > Auto-Organize) and Artwork which either is saved to the tags or to a file depending on your settings (Tools > Options > Tags & Playlists).
greycobalt

Post by greycobalt »

Lowlander wrote:By default (Tools > Options > Tags & Playlists) MediaMonkey is set to save tags to the files for most file formats on edit: http://www.mediamonkey.com/wiki/index.p ... erties/4.0