Moving folders

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

califauna

Moving folders

Post by califauna » Tue Jul 03, 2012 9:33 am

Hi All,

I have a strange problem using MediaMonkey with My Sansa View.

When I try to copy or move devices off the device onto a folder on my PC hard drive, nothing actually gets moved / copied.

The status bar at the bottom right quickly lists the files as the are supposedly being transferred, but then in the folder Im sending them too theyre not there afterwards. I have tried this with copy to, then move to, and I have also tried with autoorganise. With Autoorganise the folder which I say to create is created, but again, none of the files get moved. :-?

I have tried from the view of folders on the device, then from albums on the device (in the panel/tree on the left side of the screen). I have also tried using another drive which I have connected (I have 3 hard drives connected in PC).

Im using windows 7.

Thanks for any suggestions.
Dale.

DickDiver
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2005 11:53 am

Re: Moving folders

Post by DickDiver » Tue Jul 17, 2012 9:44 am

Hello

I wonder why no one answers. At least, I experienced the same this day.


Then I did some over thesting:

1st I grabbed my CD to a folder on my PC
2nd I went in MM to this folder that does not belong to my normally used folders or library in MM -- it was just created by Audiograbber.
3rd I tagged everything in this folder (aka my album)
4th I moved this folder my right clicking the folder in the tree in MM and went to move folder in the context menu there. I moved it into my library. precisely, into a folder of the given genre.

5th I then tried to search in MM for the album etc..... -> no hits?`°!
6th I checked the physical folder in my genre tree ... and I notice that there is nothing new. So, the move did not work?! WHY?

'How is this normal everyday workflow to be done in MM?


thanks
Joe Dell Dell

Lowlander
Posts: 45913
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Moving folders

Post by Lowlander » Sun Jul 22, 2012 5:54 pm

Very different issue, but after step 4 did you rescan files into your Library? If not you still need to do so.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

DickDiver
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2005 11:53 am

Re: Moving folders

Post by DickDiver » Mon Jul 23, 2012 4:34 am

I can not remember but I think I did not rescan.

So, rescanning is the solution here.


Would you be so kind to tell me the best way to what I described in my post at the top?

Shoud I grab into a folder that is monitored by MM and then tag files there and then move them?
At least I think I would not have to find the folder / files in my lib to rescan them.

Thanks
Joe Dell Dell

Lowlander
Posts: 45913
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Moving folders

Post by Lowlander » Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:31 am

I'd scan in the ripped files (or use MediaMonkey to rip them) into the Library. Then tag the files and use Tools > Auto-Organize Files to move them for me.

If you keep newly ripped files in a separate folder you can create a Collection to exclude files with the Path set to that folder to only show tagged files and/or create a Collection of only newly ripped files. The Location node is also useful when navigating to newly ripped files.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

Post Reply