"Audio Library has stopped working" Error

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

VonBrick
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 29, 2008 11:11 pm

"Audio Library has stopped working" Error

Post by VonBrick » Thu May 29, 2008 11:21 pm

I would have reported this under the Bug Reports section, but I'm not 100% sure it's a bug.

It seems whenever MediaMonkey is finished downloading a podcast, the application freezes and generates a non-specific Windows error. I can be doing anything or nothing in the application when this happens...the only constant is that it seems it happens only when downloading a podcast. I will add that it SEEMS to happen just as a podcast completes downloading...as if it can't "add" the podcast to the list. (Although each podcast it errors on does eventually appear in the Podcast list...I just have to restart the app to see it/them.) Once this error occurs, my only option is to completely close MediaMonkey and restart. Then it happens over and over again.

If I go into Options and set all podcasts to be downloaded Manually (which prevents MM from automatically downloading those podcasts yet to be retrieved), I can open the app and it doesn't fail.

This happens every time I start the program and within a few minutes of starting as there are several podcasts it has yet to download.

Thanks in advance for any thoughts or pointers.

(Sorry for the long narrative. ;) )

Ludek
Posts: 3252
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 9:00 am

Post by Ludek » Fri May 30, 2008 5:13 am

Anyone else noticed this problem?

Is it specific to a particular podcast / set of podcasts?
Does this happen only nearly after restarting MM or whenever the "Update All Podcasts" command is launched?

What is your OS / user rights ?

VonBrick
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 29, 2008 11:11 pm

Post by VonBrick » Fri May 30, 2008 7:46 am

Ludek wrote:Anyone else noticed this problem?

Is it specific to a particular podcast / set of podcasts?
Does this happen only nearly after restarting MM or whenever the "Update All Podcasts" command is launched?

What is your OS / user rights ?
This error occurs downloading (so far) any and all podcasts. Again...it happens every time a single podcast is downloaded. (The application only makes it through downloading one podcast then freezes, fails, and needs to be restarted after generating the Windows error.)

Again...this only happens if I have MM set in Options to download podcasts automatically when the application starts or when I attempt to download a podcast manually. Now that I have turned off the "update automatically" function, the application has been stable.

I am using Windows Vista Home Premium and am a System Administrator.

Thanks for your reply!!

random7

Re: "Audio Library has stopped working" Error

Post by random7 » Sat Jul 09, 2011 9:29 pm

About 3 weeks ago I got a new ipod and loaded it with music. Everything was fine. Two days ago I went to play some music using Media Monkey and the program now closes as soon as it opens with the above mentioned error. I use win7 (upgraded from vista).

The only other insights I have to this are, suddenly the os has blocked me from several odd folders when using a pc browser like exploder or xplorer2. I have tried running mm as admin, still same error. Reinstalled, same. Only thing I have not tried is running the pc in admin mode which I don't want to do on a permanent basis.

Anyone else suddenly experiencing this?

Karolm
Posts: 73
Joined: Sun May 13, 2007 12:32 pm
Location: Los Angeles, California

Re: "Audio Library has stopped working" Error

Post by Karolm » Sun Jul 10, 2011 6:23 pm

Yes, I am seeing this repeatedly, and I don't have podcasts or ipods or anything else unusual - Karol
"I wish you well!" - Rex Stout

Lowlander
Posts: 46678
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: "Audio Library has stopped working" Error

Post by Lowlander » Sun Jul 10, 2011 9:08 pm

Karolm wrote:Yes, I am seeing this repeatedly,
http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=69
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

Karolm
Posts: 73
Joined: Sun May 13, 2007 12:32 pm
Location: Los Angeles, California

Re: "Audio Library has stopped working" Error

Post by Karolm » Sun Jul 10, 2011 9:40 pm

It has been reported (if that's what you imply) above by a number of people, I am just joining them. I don't know if that's a bug. Anyway, I have the latest MM (v.3.2.4) and Windows 7. It started happening fairly recently, never happened before in this version.
"I wish you well!" - Rex Stout

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: "Audio Library has stopped working" Error

Post by nohitter151 » Sun Jul 10, 2011 10:09 pm

Karolm wrote:It has been reported (if that's what you imply) above by a number of people, I am just joining them. I don't know if that's a bug. Anyway, I have the latest MM (v.3.2.4) and Windows 7. It started happening fairly recently, never happened before in this version.
He's implying to get a debug log, its really the only thing that offers any hint at all in a scenario when people report it but can't give a solid set of reproduction steps.
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

random7

Re: "Audio Library has stopped working" Error

Post by random7 » Sun Jul 10, 2011 11:17 pm

I can try for a debug log, is one generated automatically when the app closes unexpectedly?

random7

Re: "Audio Library has stopped working" Error

Post by random7 » Sun Jul 10, 2011 11:21 pm

Nevermind, I was too lazy to look at the post before I typed. I just installed the debug version also, and it seems to run fine so far, will see.

Karolm
Posts: 73
Joined: Sun May 13, 2007 12:32 pm
Location: Los Angeles, California

Re: "Audio Library has stopped working" Error

Post by Karolm » Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:40 am

For me, it happens most often when I just try to play a song first thing after just opening MM. First, nothing happens. Second or third click on the player's arrow, the screen goes almost blank, like faded, it takes a while, and either it returns to normal and starts playing, or I get that error.
"I wish you well!" - Rex Stout

random7

Re: "Audio Library has stopped working" Error

Post by random7 » Tue Jul 12, 2011 10:25 am

Well, I thought the debug version was working, but it was actually just hung in the background windows. So I am back to square one. Maybe theres something in win7 thats hosing mm.

Lowlander
Posts: 46678
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: "Audio Library has stopped working" Error

Post by Lowlander » Tue Jul 12, 2011 12:21 pm

You'll need to send in a debug log for this problem as per debug log instructions.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

random7

Re: "Audio Library has stopped working" Error

Post by random7 » Tue Jul 12, 2011 7:01 pm

Indeed. I installed the debug version but it doesn't even get past the first splash screen. I have to end the task and then generally reboot later. I did notice that when I hover over the tray to expand it, I can see several running or attempted running versions for a short bit.

Lowlander
Posts: 46678
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: "Audio Library has stopped working" Error

Post by Lowlander » Tue Jul 12, 2011 7:21 pm

If you follow the instructions you will see you need to run DBGView.exe and send the log it generates to support.

As you're not getting past the splash screen you probably have a hidden dialog box and this can be fixed by running with /nosplash: http://www.mediamonkey.com/support/inde ... ticleid=45
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

Post Reply