Customizing MediaMonkey Layout?

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

HAL Lives
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2017 9:02 pm

Customizing MediaMonkey Layout?

Post by HAL Lives » Sun Sep 10, 2017 12:41 am

Hello All

I've only just started to play with the free version of Media Monkey, one immediate turn-off is the layout... is there a way to move the Player from the bottom of the screen to the top, under the tool bars?

Also, sorting by Artist Name... for instance "Between Interval" sorts under "B," but "Steve Roach" should sort under "R," and not "S" which is currently what's happening.

I downloaded MusicBee last week; practically every element of the interface is customizable, and when you're tagging your files there's a separate "Sort" field.

I imported a number of Flac files that had been created and tagged in MusicBee, but MediaMonkey ignores the "Sort" data, is there a way 'round this?

Thanks
Paul

Lowlander
Posts: 44267
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Customizing MediaMonkey Layout?

Post by Lowlander » Sun Sep 10, 2017 12:07 pm

1) You can drag & drop the Player around the interface.

2) This is not possible, but it has been requested: http://www.ventismedia.com/mantis/view.php?id=2915
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

Guest

Re: Customizing MediaMonkey Layout?

Post by Guest » Sun Sep 10, 2017 5:15 pm

Thanks Lowlander... dragging and dropping was the first thing I tried and it didn't work, I also Right-clicked to see if there was a context sensitive menu, but there's nothing there about moving any of the interface elements.

I'm using v 4.1.17.1840 on a Win7 Pro 64Bit system, with the Metro M skin.

Thanks
Paul

Lowlander
Posts: 44267
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Customizing MediaMonkey Layout?

Post by Lowlander » Sun Sep 10, 2017 7:47 pm

It works just fine here (MetroMonkey_Light skin).
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

HAL Lives
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2017 9:02 pm

Re: Customizing MediaMonkey Layout?

Post by HAL Lives » Tue Sep 12, 2017 11:19 pm

Thanks for the help Lowlander, but I think I'll be staying with MusicBee, as I mentioned, practically every element of the interface is configurable out of the box.

And the lack of the "Sort" function is a major ding for me - I live in my playlists set to "Album View" - and from the notes it doesn't look as if the functionality will be added any time soon.

jiri
Posts: 5336
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Customizing MediaMonkey Layout?

Post by jiri » Wed Sep 13, 2017 3:17 am

re. customization - you might want to check out MM5 (currently alpha), it offers some interesting customization features, and more is coming. And, under the hoods, it's super-customizable thanks to its open-source UI implementation in HTML/JS.

re. Sort by fields - while some users wanted it in the past, it never seemed to be that much required. However, seems to be a good idea to add it, we'll try to get it either to MM5 or 5.1.

Jiri

MMFrLife
Posts: 2774
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 9:04 pm

Re: Customizing MediaMonkey Layout?

Post by MMFrLife » Wed Sep 13, 2017 2:50 pm

HAL Lives wrote:dragging and dropping was the first thing I tried and it didn't work
Yeah, it can be a bit sensitive. I almost always have good luck when when grabbing on to an area around the far left of it (corners maybe).
Placing it can be fairly tricky as well. Move it around patiently, slowly in the desired area at top.
MM user since 2003 (lifetime since 2012) "Trying to imagine life without music gives me a headache"
track properties; dir/fn mask configurations; check out ZvezdanD's scripts
MMW 4.1.18.1842b; fav scripts > RegExp Find & Replace 5.1.0; Magic Nodes 5.1.0; Advanced Duplicate Find & Fix 3.8.2;
Backup 6.0; Clear Now Playing Button 1.2
...always back it up, especially before doing anything major!!!
Win. explorer alt. for power users [free]; great file/folder renamer [used by nasa]

Post Reply